Categories
Reflections

Comfort Zone

I was first introduced to the idea of a Comfort Zone when I read the 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens during my incoming freshman year in high school. The book states that we must not stay in our comfort zone all the time, that we must do things that we find challenging for us to improve. I totally agree and now as I write this, many years after I read that book, I can claim that I have become a better person because I did my best to stay outside of my comfort zone before. And now look ate me, I’m a butterfly with wings so colorful and bright, I’m a tall tree firmly rooted in the ground, I’m a bird with wings so wide and is flying high. My comfort zone has become bigger. Most of the things that I found outside of my comfort zone before are now things I like doing. Before I was shy, now I love talking to people. Before I was afraid to take risks, now I’m a risk taker. All of these, each and every single thing have now been incorporated in the circle of comfort and instead of having difficulty or being challenged, I would actually have to exert zero effort to do such things.

But when a butterfly develops, or when a tree starts to grow tall, or when a bird starts soaring high in the sky, it doesn’t mean that they should stop already. There’s more to do, so much more. Even if our comfort zones have been widened, we should still exert effort to get out from it.I believe that it can never be too big for us not to be challenged anymore. As long as we have that drive where we infinitely want to improve not just for self gratification or fame but because we simply believe that we are capable to do so, we will always go out of that circle of comfort.

So now, watch this butterfly travel places to see the most wonderful of flowers, watch this tree withstand the strong winds and storms that will be coming, watch this bird build a nest and take care of his family.

Leave a comment